A look back at last week end.

3 05 2012

The weather was atrocious, not to put too fine a point on it. Friday afternoon arrived again and we were free from the shackles of work, regardless of weather there was only one direction were we heading …seawards.

The tide was looking OK with a nice peak time, the plan had been agreed days in advance so there was no messing about, we got in there like swimwear!

Rolling in.

The chosen mark has been good to us on weaker tides, but this time it was choked with suspended weed, small fragments littered the layers. A couple of seals were approx 200yards further out than usual, they know the game and were out there for a reason. Our stubbornness saw us fish on for 2 fruitless hours, we don’t give in too easily. We scouted the area constantly moving as usual looking for a small break in the weed, we came across a fantastic looking area, previously overlooked . Our thoughts were confirmed by a couple of Gannets patrolling a very tight area for 30mins or so. This area was clean with a great flow through it, but we happened upon it to0 far into the tide, the area we wanted to get the lures into was just out of reach this time.

A quick look at the watch indicated 60mins of rising water left, options limited with weather and tide we made a call and gave the Pony some nuts ( Copy Right Pat Gahan 🙂 ).

We arrived on the second location but Crevan was not convinced, communicated through ‘Im not feeling it’ ( Copy Right Crevan 🙂 ). I was feeling the Buzz so there was no debate from me, I was down to the mark as quick as I could set the pace. I Dont think Crevan and Pat were sharing my Buzz, I was just happy to be out of work/house for a few hours and no weed was gonna take the shine off it!

We split up a few hundred yards apart, conditions were better here, and it wasn’t long before Crevan changed his tune, I could he was bent into the first fish in the distance and Pat confirmed it as he raced across the rocks. I followed suit and grabbed a quick picture and called Barry to tell him it was worth coming out for a while.

Is this man feeling it ?

I made my way back and began fishing again, and was soon rewarded with a nice fish which fell to an X-140 on an erratic retrieve. A bit of commotion followed before the fish was brought under control, it was a lively one, long lean with a big head.

The business end.

The Release,
The Release,

Did I say I had a Buzzz…. Pat joined me and we fished into the fall, I connected with and landed another Bass, this time the fish took took the lure very timidly, similar to a take on ‘dead sticked’ soft plastic. I unhooked the fish in the water and it shot off, I think shes been here before!

Barry arrived soon after and made his way with Crevan to another vantage point out of sight. Pat and myself fished on, moving in the opposite direction. The moon lit the sea up nicely as the Northerly wind gathered pace, the tide continued to fall… I hooked into another fish awhile later the rod arched, drag chimed and then the fish was gone. That was to be the end of the action for us, it was becoming bitterly cold so we called a halt. Barry and Crevan met us on the way back, turned out Crevan landed a nice 6lb Bass which gave him a great fight on his first cast into a nice flow of water. He was certainly felling it now 🙂

That was all my fishing for last week end, fingers crossed for this weekend we might just get out on the boat in Kilmore for the first time this year….

Your next one could be your best one.

Danny.

Actions

Information

14 responses

4 05 2012
RockHunter - Frank

Well done on getting a few bass last weekend in very tough conditions. Your persistance was well rewarded.

5 05 2012
Barry Howlin.........

Nice……Prime conditions for the black beetle

5 05 2012
Barry Howlin.........

Nice……Prime conditions for the black beetle

3 04 2013
dating cape town

Can I simply say what a comfort to find a person that genuinely
understands what they are talking about on the net. You definitely realize
how to bring a problem to light and make it important.

More people should look at this and understand this side of the story.

I was surprised that you’re not more popular given that you most certainly have the gift.

4 04 2013
adjustable dumbbell

Very quickly this web page will be famous amid all blogging and site-building people, due to it’s pleasant posts

4 04 2013
xen hosting

Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I
was wanting to know your situation; we have created
some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange solutions with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

4 04 2013
click here

This article provides clear idea for the new
users of blogging, that actually how to do blogging.

7 04 2013
Jina

I simply could not depart your web site before suggesting that I
actually enjoyed the usual info a person provide in your visitors?
Is gonna be again incessantly in order to check up on new
posts

8 04 2013
garcinia cambogia gnc

Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment
but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

8 04 2013
garcinia cambogia extract side effects

Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

8 04 2013
garcinia cambogia benefits

What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this site, and article is in fact fruitful in support of me, keep up posting
such posts.

10 04 2013
mizuno irons jpx 800

Thank you for your wonderful post! It has long been incredibly valuable.
I hope which you will proceed sharing your wisdom with us.

10 04 2013
where to buy garcinia cambogia

Everything is very open with a very clear description
of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your site is very helpful.
Many thanks for sharing!




