First Wrasse of 2012

1 04 2012

Low cloud cover with a light Northerly wind greeted us yesterday morning as the tide pushed in over the bladderwrack. We would be targeting Wrasse for the first time this year, and what a still morning it was. Flat calm with gin clear water, I would have preferred a bit more motion in the water to fizz things up but we agreed that this has to be the most relaxing spot to fish on a calm day.

Would have been a great morning for the boat.

When targeting Wrasse I use jig heads (mainly Decoy Bachi) that have been used for my Bass fishing and are starting to rust/corrode. For the lure I used Soft Plastic that have been used and damaged while previously fishing for Bass.
Reason being is I tend to lose a fair few jig heads when targeting Wrasse, also Wrasse have a habit of biting lures in half ! For example I lost 4 jig heads/SP’s in yesterdays short session, this can add up quickly if you are using new gear 🙂

Anyway back to the fishing, Pat and myself were on location first, I decided to take a few random underwater pictures as visibility was fantastic. Here is one of the pictures below, I managed to capture a fish on one of the shots can you see it?

Can you see it?

The fishing was slow, the tide slowly pushed in creating some activity. Crevan and Tom joined us. During the session we seen a shoal of mullet, 3 shoals of sand eels and 5 or 6 Bass swimming mid water together in about 10 feet or water directly below us. We all just stood there like rabbits in a head light watching there electric blue backs glide out of sight. Epic.

It was about time a fish was caught, so in between losing jig heads I finally felt that unmistakable Wrasse pluck as my SP swung behind a large submerged ledge. I waited and then struck – Fish On 🙂 It gave a nice little scrap Happy Days.

First Wrasse of 2012 coming in.

First Wrasse of 2012 coming in.

First Wrasse of 2012 coming in.

First Wrasse 2012

I tried to get a video of its release but it was too quick for me !

That was all of the action for the morning, Pat had his SP robbed by a suspected Wrasse at one point but apart from that it was all quiet. We called it a day after a couple of hours.

Your next one could be your best one.

Danny.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 04 2012
gerry andrews

nice wrasse danny is it any good to spin for thes fish

1 04 2012
dannymeagher

ALthough I have never tried spinning for Wrasse I do know of two people that have caught Wrasse using MegaBass Gateride Lures! If I were to try spinning for them I would go the deep spinning route using a lure like a firetail or a small shad e.g. one up shad, retrieved slowly across the sea bed.

They are a very under rated sport fish. They go back well if you retrieve them slowly from deep water.

Danny.




