Out and about over the last few weeks.

25 10 2011

I haven’t been out much lately due to a combination of weather, work and family. But when I did manage to get out I tried to optimize my time on the water with the lures, combining your knowledge and a bit of lady luck for a flash of Silver!

Future Fun

Having a chat

Crevan and I were out for low water and were watching some Mullet sunning themselves while we flicked out the lures for the Bass. Not much was happening on the Bass front, but the big Mullet kept us occupied as they glided around at our feet.
We were having a chat as I was straight retrieving an Xlayer, and just as I was to lift it out of the water when rod arches over and the drag lets off a bit of line…. and the hungry Bass is landed….Happy Days.

Smash and Grab Bass

Little Submarine

Two and a half hours

I took a day off work on a good tide and was on the water as daylight broke. I started up top with the Gunfish and worked it around for 30mins or so. No interest was shown so I switched to an Xlayer and tried multiple techniques and a combination of colors and weights but again no interest was shown to my offerings for over an hour.
This was a morning when everything seemed in place, conditions, tide, mood 🙂 , there had to be fish here.. I sat down and took a break happy in the thought that I wasn’t in work.

I finished the last of the Red Bull and clipped on me oul Storm Sand Eel, I approached the water and flicked her out into the rip, I let her sink with slight tension. Pluck and the rod arches over.’YES’ fish on !!
A few minutes later and 40 yards down the the shore line from where the fight began a nice Autumn Bass was landed.

7lb+ Autum Bass

A great condition fish that swam off well after a few poses for the camera.

Getting ready for launch.

Ready

Steady

Go

I headed home soon after in time to make the children’s breakfast, and answer the barrage of fishy questions !

When the Weather Forecasters got it wrong

High winds was the forecast but Barry and myself headed out anyway. Thankfully they got it wrong again and it was an extremely calm morning when I met up with Barry. He had seen a small bit of action with a couple of escapees managing to elude capture.
We had the craic and waited for the turn. I was bouncing a Storm Sand Eel down current when it was hit hard by this plump Bass:

Plump Autum Bass

Barry switched to a One Up Shad and had instant success on his first cast a few yards up from me. The fish gave an excellent account of itself going on multiple long surging runs much to the amusement of Barry. It was a nice fish too that presented it self on the shore after the battle:

Barry with a 6lb Autumn Bass

Another one going back

The fish swam off well and that was all the action on that particular morning.

BAIT
On the bait front, Pat and Crevan have been out chasing slabs of Flounder with great results. I think they had 11 in one session a couple of weeks back all ‘Dust Bin Lids’ and they also had a few bonus Bass to 5lb for their efforts. All fish falling to live crab.

Hopefully we will have a couple of more lure sessions before the weather turns and the Bass head off for another year.

Your next one could be your best one.

Danny.

Actions

Information

5 responses

25 10 2011
Crevan

How come you never said about the one that you made me drop…..you and that camera!!!!! 🙂

25 10 2011
danny meagher

I forgot about that session!!. It didn’t turn out too bad after 🙂 . I must put it up at the weekend.

31 10 2011
Bivvies

Great underwater shots

6 12 2011
Jeff

Enjoyed your artical makes we want to go out here one more time but the seasons have changed so we must go South. Maybe this winter the Keys or Sandiego. Keep on writting be back to check out more.

15 01 2012
dannymeagher

Hi Jeff,

I only seen your comments now. Thanks for viewing.

Danny.




