County Kerry 17th – 21st March 2011

2 04 2011

The family and I traveled West for the first time with the children, along journey but well worth it when we encounter the scenery this part of the country has to offer.
The children and joan were getting very excited when we encountered the vast mountain systems, but the big child (yours truly) in the drivers seat nearly wet himself when he saw the coastline….. staggering, beautiful, and very very fishy.

We arrived at our our location around midday.

Thatch Cottage Ireland

Our hosts were to be Lynn and John Quinlan of Thatch Cottage Ireland , Member of B.A.S.S., National Federation of Sea Anglers, Waterville Fishery Development Group and Irish Bass Protection and Awareness Group

The accommodation was excellent, a unspoilt place surrounded by peace and tranquility as far as the eye could see. Lynn was a fantastic host, cooked a full Irish breakfast to die for, which really sets you up for the day, and quite a dab hand at retrieving a car from a deep Dyke, Thanks Lynn!
John needs no introduction, an ambassador for the Irish Bass Protection and Awareness Group, an accomplished angler and fantastic company out on the water. You could listen to his wealth of information all day.

A beautiful view not far from the Cottage.

The Holiday was mainly sight seeing and doing the general tourist thing, which I must admit was quite relaxing, and although I was eager to go exploring the rugged coastline with rod in tow, I eased into the relaxation that the surroundings offered. It is a great place to just get away from it all.

I could get used to this.

I had booked a days guiding on Friday with John before I arrived. Well I arrived on the Thursday and a couple of hours later John was driving me around showing me some good fishing locations, meeting some local anglers and generally having a yarn about all things Bass related. To be fair he didn’t have to do it as I only booked his time for Friday, but a gentleman always goes that extra mile.

Surf is up.

Friday was spent traveling around various locations with John, he was relaying some of his vast knowledge about the species, behavior, life cycle, tactics, tides, weather…so much information and so little time for me to lodge it away in my memory banks!
It was a fantastic day, I really enjoyed it, it was the first time I fished with a guide so I didn’t know what to expect. My mind was put at ease with Johns approach, a great guy and he even sneaked out a Bass just before went went back to the Cottage that evening 🙂 I didn’t connect with a fish but I didn’t bother me as I really enjoyed the day out.

These signs are seriously needed in Wexford.

After that I managed to sneak in a few hours fishing late evening/early morning when the family was asleep, armed with the new found knowledge gained from John I went exploring.
I was drawing a blank after about 90 mins when the rod arched forward and the pulse gathered pace, small bit of line taken and I eased the fish ashore, it was a Mullet hooked just outside the mouth towards the gill plate.
Interesting catch, a couple of photos and off it went no worse for the battle.

First Mullet of 2011 (by catch)

Mullet swimming off.

I changed location soon after and spotted a shoal of sand smelt held up in an area where they seemed quite venerable to predators, I could see this as the water was very shallow and crystal clear.

Crystal clear water in Kerry

So I sneaked down towards the water clipped on the pink princess ( same shape and size as a sand smelt), I was about 15 feet from the waters edge and I flicked out the lure. It landed about 10 yards sea ward of the shoal as intended. Two turns of the reel handle and I was into my first Bass of 2011. Happy Days !

First Bass of 2011 on the Pink Princess.

Well to say the Buzz was mighty would be an understatement, a fine little schoolie full of energy made me one happy chappie, quick photo and back he went on his patrol.

Second cast, same target area, bang fish on ! another little schoolie came in to see me, slipped the hook out of his lip and back he went. I stwitched to a top water lure now as I could now see some sand smelts jumping out of the water in fear of their life! I flicked it into the mix, working it very slowly, long pauses etc. gave it 5 casts varying the action no interest was shown though.

Back on went the pink princess first cast bang fish on again, a slightly bigger schoolie this time, my smile couldn’t get any bigger ! I was thinking there must be bigger fish here with all the co motion going on, so I cast out 40 yard further than my previous casts, let the plug settle awhile and I began a retrieve which brought the lure towards a gap about 16 inches wide between 2 rock pinnacles. Rod lurched forward with venom, this wasn’t a schoolie …I lifted the rod up high and kept contact for 5-10 seconds as the drag gave off line sea wards. The line then went slack… and thats why I hate using trebles as your not certain of a clean hook up compared to say weedless soft plastics.

Anyway I managed another foul hooked Mullet and a couple more Bass which topped off the holiday nicely. two Hours of cracking fishing who I must mention was shared with a local guy by the name of Chris, he arrived and started to do a bit of fly fishing down to my right, I invited him to fish where I was and we had a good chat and a bit of craic sneaking around the fish. Watching a fly angler in action I very interesting, very stealthy indeed.

Another Billy


County Kerry Silver.

Well considering I did not do much fishing over the 5 days I was very impressed with the coastline and the various marks it had to offer in that part of the world. I will be returning in August for fishing online, the family will be staying home this time, and I can only imagine the fishing that is waiting for me down there.

Barry has booked the family and himself in down there on my recommendation, it really is that good down there for a family break (don’t forget to sneak your fishing rod into the suitcase 🙂 ). If your after some peace and quite with local friendly folk surrounded by beautiful unspoilt scenery County Kerry is well worth a look.

You can contact Lynn and John here :
http://www.thatchcottageireland.co.uk/

You can learn more about Irish Bass here:
http://www.irishbass.org/

The possibilities .......


Danny.

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 04 2011
RockHunter - Frank

Well done on your first lure caught bass.
Its a great part of the country, I had a couple of trips over that way last year and must do it again this year.
Cheers,
Frank

12 06 2011
Dick McClary

What a great fishing blog, I’ll be back here again.
It’s particularly good to read a fishing article that’s both well written and informative – and it’s not always so!
Thanks, keep posting …

13 06 2011
dannymeagher

Hello Dick,

Thanks for your comment. I just had a quick look at your site, very informative too.
I will have to spend a bit more time on it, there is some really good information on there.

Regards,
Danny.

17 06 2011
John Devlin

I absolutely love your site Danny! I’d love to fish with you some day. I have some friends that are a little bit into fishing but I’m the only real fishing nut. I love bass and I thoroughly envy the fact you live in Wexford. Keep up the super work of highlighting & promoting how wonderful, exciting & beautiful the sport of bass fishing is. All the best – John D.

20 06 2011
dannymeagher

Evening John,

Thanks for your comment. Sure if your ever around the South East I could join you for a few casts for the craic if im not working etc.

Regards,
Danny.




